The International Certificate of Vaccination applicable against yellow fever will only be required for entering the national territory to foreign travelers coming from yellow fever areas of occurrence that present an international dissemination risk. For the moment, there are no areas presenting an international dissemination risk of the illness.  

Vaccination is recommended for travelers coming to Brazil who are not vaccinated or haven’t been vaccinated for over 10 years against yellow fever and who will go to woodlands and/or riverine areas from regions considered at risk, such as: every State in the North Region and Central-Western, as well as parts of the Northeast Region (Maranhão State, Southeast of Piauí, Western and Southern tip of Bahia), Southeast Region (Minas Gerais State, West of São Paulo and North of Espírito Santo) and South Region (West of Paraná States, Santa Catarina and Rio Grande do Sul). 

Travelers are protected against yellow fever when vaccinated at least ten days before travelling.  

For more information, please access: (only in Portuguese).


ATTENTION: Vaccinations (Yellow Fever)

An International Certificate of Vaccination for yellow fever is required by the Brazilian Government for travelers who have been in these countries within three months prior to entry in Brazil, or have come directly from these countries:

  • Angola
  • Colombia
  • Guinea-Bissau
  • Democratic Republic of the Congo
  • Benin
  • Ecuador
  • French Guyana
  • Sierra Leone
  • Bolivia
  • Gabon
  • Liberia
  • Sudan
  • Burkina
  • Faso
  • Gambia
  • Nigeria
  • Venezuela
  • Cameroon
  • Ghana
  • Peru
  • Zaire

The certificate can be acquired at an official yellow fever vaccination center as designated by the state health departments in your city. The vaccine must be manufactured under approval of the World Health Organization.

Furthermore, we recommend this vaccination for anyone planning to visit these Brazilian states / regions:

  • All states of the Central-West Region, including Brasília, city where will be held the congress
  • All states of the North Region
  • Northeast Region, states: Maranhão, Piauí, Bahia
  • Southeast Region, states: Minas Gerais, São Paulo and Espírito Santo
  • Southern Region, states: paraná, Santa Catarina and Rio Grande do Sul

Please check with your local health authority for more information before travelling.